Invocation to Daughters

Invocation to Daughters

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
"Feminist experimental poetry in the tradition of Audre Lorde and Theresa Hak Kyung Cha from a prominent Filipina American poet"-- Provided by publisher.
"The fifth collection from Oakland poet Barbara Jane Reyes, in the tradition of Audre Lorde and Theresa Hak Kyung Cha, Invocation to Daughters is a book of prayers, psalms, and odes for Filipina girls and women trying to survive and make sense of their own situations. Writing in an English inflected with Tagalog and Spanish, Reyes unleashes this colonized tongue against sexualized and racialized violence towards Pinay women. With its meditations on the relationship between fathers and daughters and impassioned pleas on behalf of victims of brutality, Invocation to Daughters is a lyrical feminist broadside written from a place of shared humanity"-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: San Francisco :, City Lights,, [2017]
ISBN: 9780872867475
Characteristics: 74 pages ; 18 cm


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings


Find it at CSM

To Top