The Book of Mirrors

The Book of Mirrors

A Novel

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
An elegant, page-turning thriller in the vein of Night Film and Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter , this tautly crafted novel is about stories: the ones we tell, the ones we keep hidden, and the ones that we'll do anything to ensure they stay buried. When literary agent Peter Katz receives a partial book submission entitled The Book of Mirrors , he is intrigued by its promise and original voice. The author, Richard Flynn, has written a memoir about his time as an English student at Princeton in the late 1980s, documenting his relationship with the protege of the famous Professor Joseph Wieder. One night just before Christmas 1987, Wieder was brutally murdered in his home. The case was never solved. Now, twenty-five years later, Katz suspects that Richard Flynn is either using his book to confess to the murder, or to finally reveal who committed the violent crime. But the manuscript ends abruptly--and its author is dying in the hospital with the missing pages nowhere to be found. Hell-bent on getting to the bottom of the story, Katz hires investigative journalist John Keller to research the murder and reconstruct the events for a true crime version of the memoir. Keller tracks down several of the mysterious key players, including retired police detective Roy Freeman, one of the original investigators assigned to the murder case, but he has just been diagnosed with early-onset Alzheimer's. Inspired by John Keller's investigation, he decides to try and solve the case once and for all, before he starts losing control of his mind. A trip to the Potosi Correctional Centre in Missouri, several interviews, and some ingenious police work finally lead him to a truth that has been buried for over two decades...or has it? Stylishly plotted, elegantly written, and packed with thrilling suspense until the final page, The Book of Mirrors is a book within a book like you've never read before.
Publisher: New York :, Emily Bestler Books/Atria,, [2017]
Edition: First Emily Bestler booksAtria Books hardcover edition
ISBN: 9781501141546
1501141546
Characteristics: 276 pages ; 24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

j
jerksister1
May 28, 2017

Interesting, very well-written story that I found hard to put down, but I found the ending (or the answer to the mystery) a bit disappointing. Would read another book by this author though; enjoyed his writing very much.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at CSM

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top