A Night to Surrender

A Night to Surrender

Book - 2011
Average Rating:
4
Rate this:
Baker & Taylor
While assembling a militia in the town of Spindle Cove, a haven for women with delicate constitutions, the new Earl of Rycliff meets his match in Susanna, a woman who is determined to save her personal utopia from the invasion of his makeshift army.

HARPERCOLL

“An engaging love story with strong, believable characters. I can’t wait to read the sequels!”
—Mary Balogh

“Prepare to fall in love.”
—Julia Quinn

Presenting the winner of the Avon FanLit contest, the immensely talented Tessa Dare! Tessa’s first Avon historical romance,A Night to Surrender, is a love story to remember—kicking off her wonderfully inventive Spindle Cove series, set in England’s Regency Era in a small seaside resort town that caters specifically to ladies “of good breeding and delicate constitution.” Fans of Lisa Kleypas, Christina Dodd, and Liz Carlyle will delight in the passionate chaos that ensues when a dashing British officer, under orders, “invades” this community of strong-willed “spinsters,” only to discover he’s met his match in Miss Susannah Finch!



Baker
& Taylor

While in the town of Spindle Cove, a haven for ladies with delicate constitutions, to gather a militia, the new Earl of Rycliff meets his match in Susanna Finch, a woman who is determined to save her personal utopia from the invasion of his makeshift army. Original.

Publisher: New York : Avon, c2011
ISBN: 9780062049834
0062049836
Characteristics: 389 p. ; 17 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

m
marthabwaters
Aug 08, 2015

Just to be clear, when I give this 4.5 stars, I'm not saying it's Shakespeare--but what I AM saying is that if you're looking for a really standout example of the Regency romance genre, you need look no further. The two leads are well-developed and memorable; the setting, a small coastal town that is a magnet for spinsters, is quirky and charming; and the dialogue is light and witty and funny enough that I sincerely laughed out loud multiple times. This is a great readalike for readers of Julia Quinn or Eloisa James -- clever and funny and charming.

leah_123 Jun 05, 2015

This book had a fantastic premise. A young independent minded woman who runs a boarding house for other young "gently bred" ladies meets a Lieutenant Colonel in an idyllic little village. Only I hated their first meeting. He was setting off explosives trying to clear some sheep out of the way. That part was kind of funny, but the fact that they end up kissing during this encounter was not good at all. Turned me off completely. I would have rather he became furious with her for almost getting herself killed while she then read him the riot act for setting off the explosives in the first place. That would have kept my interest. Unfortunately, that's not what happened and I did not get past page 60. She was too naive and he wasn't a gentlemen. The secondary characters did seem interesting tho, but not enough to keep me reading.

l
lbernhag
Feb 02, 2015

Great character development and good plot

t
turtletree
Jul 05, 2012

Just too simplistic and contrived, it had me rolling my eyes.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at CSM

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top