Once Upon A Tart

Once Upon A Tart

Soups, Salads, Muffins, and More From New York City's Favorite Bakeshop and Cafe

Book - 2003
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
Random House, Inc.
A cookbook in the tradition of The Silver Palate and The Barefoot Contessa . . .

In New York City, famous for its food and restaurants, locals are reverential about the bakeshop and café Once Upon a Tart. For more than a decade, they have been lining up at the store mornings and afternoons, waiting patiently for their signature scones, muffins, soups, salads, sandwiches, cookies, and—of course—tarts. And pretty much since the day the café opened, patrons have been asking—sometimes begging—the proprietors for their sweet and savory recipes. Good news: the wait is over.

In Once Upon a Tart, the café’s founders and co-owners, Jerome Audureau (a New Yorker via France) and Frank Mentesana (a New Yorker via New Jersey), go public with their culinary secrets (“We don’t have any,” says Frank. “That’s our biggest secret of all”) and recipes. They also tell their inspiring success story, from selling tarts wholesale out of a warehouse in Long Island City to opening their now-famous outpost in Soho.

In nine delicious chapters ranging from savory tarts to cookies, the authors instruct and advise home cooks on everything from how to make the flakiest tart crust (“keep the dough cold”) to making sandwiches (“condiments are key”) to how to diet (“you want half the calories, eat half the scone”). Once Upon a Tart is packed with more than 225 easy-to-prepare recipes, including all the store classics that have earned Frank and Jerome the devotion of their customers: Caramelized-Leek-and-Celery Tart, Creamy Carrot Soup with Fresh Dill, Pork Loin Sandwich with Frisée and Rosemary-Garlic Aioli, Buttermilk Scones with Dried Currants, Banana–Poppy Seed Muffins, and Strawberry-Rhubarb Tart with Crisp Topping.

Says Frank, “We believe that deep down, everyone is a cook.” Adds Jerome, “And that a little butter in your life is a good thing.”

Baker & Taylor
The co-founders of the Long Island City warehouse bakery share culinary wisdom, technical tips, and recipes for such fare as pear-ginger raisin muffins, classic basil pesto, and an array of signature tarts.

Baker
& Taylor

The co-founders of the Long Island City warehouse bakery share culinary wisdom, technical tips, and recipes for such fare as Chickpea-Tomato with Fresh Rosemary soup, Pear-Ginger-Raisin muffins, Spiced Pumpkin with Fresh Cranberries scones, Very Ginger cookies, and an array of signature tarts. 35,000 first printing.

Publisher: New York : Alfred A. Knopf, 2003
Edition: 1st ed
ISBN: 9780375413162
0375413162
Characteristics: xxii, 360 p. : col. ill. ; 21 x 25 cm
Additional Contributors: Carreño, Carolyn
Audureau, Jerome

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

t
TheSponge
Apr 01, 2011

I have worked my way through this entire cookbook over the years. The recipes are all first-rate. With easy to follow instructions, colorful step by step photos, funny anecdotes and helpful tips/ hints you can’t go wrong! Highly, highly recommended!

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at CSM

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top